Click to login

The Orthopterists' Society role

Home         Wiki

The Orthopterists' Society's Orthoptera Species File Committee works in cooperation with the Illinois Natural History Survey.

The Orthoptera Species File Committee members are:

  • María Marta Cigliano (send mail), Division Entomologia, Museo de la Plata, Paseo del Bosque S/N, 1900 La Plata, Argentina
  • David Eades (send mail), Illinois Natural History Survey, 1816 S. Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820, USA
  • Sigfrid Ingrisch (send mail), Zoologisches Forschungsinstitut und Museum Alexander Koenig, Adenauerallee 160, D-53113 Bonn, Germany
  • Michel Lecoq (send mail), CIRAD, Département amis Acridologie opérationnelle (Prifas), TA40/D, Campus International de Baillarguet, 34398 Montpellier Cedex 5, France
  • Piotr Naskrecki (send mail), Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, 26 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA
  • Daniel Otte (send mail), Academy of Natural Sciences,1900 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103, USA
  • David Rentz (send mail), CSIRO, Division of Entomology, Canberra, Australia
  • Hugh Rowell (send mail), Chalet Oreïna, 3961 Ayer, Switzerland

Committee members are appointed by the President of the Orthopterists' Society.  The responsibilities of the committee are:

  • To advise on design of database and priorities for tasks.
  • To grant awards from the endowment.
  • To review proposed changes to higher ranks within the database.  This has been proposed, but there is no current consensus that this should be a committee responsibility.